A Landscape Horticulturist License is required for persons engaged in landscaping services and the setting or replacement of any plants. No person shall advertise in any manner, solicit business, place bids, enter contracts or receive a fee to render landscaping services and setting of plants without first obtaining a license. Persons engaged in lawn maintenance shall not have the words landscape or landscaping in their business name for it is considered a form of advertisement for landscaping and setting of plants. A Landscape Horticulturist License is not required for irrigation installation and lawn maintenance (grass mowing, fertilizing, etc.).
There is no cost for a Landscape Horticulturist License.
How to Obtain a Landscape Horticulturist License:
- Applicant must submit a License Exam Application (PDF) and qualify to take exams.
- Applicant must take the exams on the scheduled date and time. Landscape Horticulturist Exam Study Guide (PDF)
- Once applicant passes exams, submit ID card application(s) for the license holder Request for Issuance of License or Permit (PDF) and employees RTID Application (PDF). For applicants who failed an exam(s) and want to take the exam(s) again, submit the Exam Retake Application (PDF)
- A Surety Bond minimum of $1,000 is required for license issuance. Surety Bond Form and Instructions (PDF)
License shall expire 3 (three) years from the date of issuance. To renew your license, submit Landscape Horticulturist License Renewal Form (PDF) and updated Surety Bond. It is the responsibility of the licensee to know when his/her license and/or bond expires and to get the license and/or bond renewed prior to the expiration date.
Grounds for immediate license invalidation:
- Failure to notify the Bureau of Plant Industry of address change.
- Failure to renew bond.
- When license holder ceases to personally supervise and be in direct charge of operations.
License Suspension and Cancellation:
Reasons for suspension or cancellation can be found in Mississippi Laws & Regulations, Subpart 3 – Bureau of Plant Industry, Chapter 11 – Regulations of Professional Services, Subchapter 04.
- License holders, employees, and laborers engaged in soliciting business shall have an ID Card.
- All vehicles and mobile equipment shall be marked for easy identification.
- License holders shall keep records of all work performed including contracts issued for 2 years.
- Records shall include location, kind of services performed, date performed, materials used and any other information necessary for a complete record.
- License holders must keep the Bureau of Plant Industry updated with any changes to their company information by submitting the Company Information Change Form (PDF).
Forms, Laws & Regulations
P.O. Box 5207
Mississippi State, MS 39762
Phone: (662) 325-7766
Fax: (662) 325-0397