top-menu

Nursery and Nursery Dealer Programs

Directory of Mississippi Certified Nurseries and Nursery Dealers (PDF)

Nursery Dealer Certification

A Nursery Dealer is a retail establishment that buys plants for resale. In Mississippi, Nursery Dealers are required to file a Nursery Dealer Agreement Form (PDF) with the Bureau of Plant Industry. Upon receipt of the completed agreement form, the Bureau will issue a Nursery Dealer Certificate. This certificate should be kept on file. The Nursery Dealer may be asked to provide the Certificate to the Nurseries from which they purchase plants.

A new Nursery Dealer can complete and submit the form anytime throughout the year. The certificate will be valid until June 30. Each year, in mid-June, the Bureau sends renewal notices to all existing Nursery Dealers.

All Nursery Dealers are required by the Mississippi Plant Act to be inspected by a state inspector at least once a year and certified free of injurious pests and plant diseases.

This service is provided by the Mississippi Department of Agriculture & Commerce, Bureau of Plant Industry.

Nursery Certification

A Nursery is an establishment where young plants and trees are grown for sale or for planting elsewhere.

There are 3 Nursery classifications listed below however, all have to meet the same inspection requirements:

  1. Nursery outlet: Nursery operation in which less than 50 percent of the nursery stock sold is grown by that nursery. Example: garden centers where most of the nursery stock on hand has been procured from other nurseries as ready-for-sale plants.
  2. Commercial grower: Nursery operation in which more than 50 percent of the nursery stock sold or distributed is stock grown by that nursery and may include such plant material as rooted liners or seedlings.
  3. Non-commercial grower: Same as a commercial grower, but the individual or partnership that operates the nursery does not depend completely on the sale of nursery stock as a source of income. Examples include an individual working full-time elsewhere to supplement income from the nursery or a “back-yard” type grower who handles a low volume of nursery stock and makes infrequent sales.

All nurseries are required by the Mississippi Plant Act to be inspected by a state inspector at least twice a year and certified free of injurious pests and plant diseases. The Bureau sends renewal notices to all existing Nurseries.

A new Nursery can request an inspection anytime throughout the year to become a certified Nursery. New Nurseries should contact the Bureau when nursery stock is available for inspection and provide their contact information (name, address, county, telephone number, and email address).

Upon completion of a successful inspection, the Bureau issues a certificate which should accompany each shipment of nursery stock.

This service is provided by the Mississippi Department of Agriculture & Commerce, Bureau of Plant Industry.

Forms, Laws & Regulations
» Forms
» Laws
» Regulations

Nursery/Nursery Dealer
Lori Epperson
LoriE@mdac.ms.gov
Telephone: 662.325.8488

P.O. Box 5207
Mississippi State, MS 39762
Fax: 662.325.8397