
 

                               
STATE OF MISSISSIPPI 

 DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE 
ANDY GIPSON 

COMMISSIONER 

 

 

 

Application for Bonded Weighmaster’s License for a Business 
 

 
The Bonded Weighmaster’s Law provides that a business may be licensed as a Bonded Weighmaster which is 

engaged in business of public weighing who shall weigh or measure any property, commodity, produce or article 

and issue therefore a weight certificate which shall be accepted as the true and accurate weight or measure upon 

which property, commodity, produce or article is offered for sale or sold and that seals may be inscribed 

electronically on weight certificates for such service for any person, upon request or otherwise, with or without 

compensation, of property, commodity, produce or article other than such property, commodity, produce or 

article being bought or sold by a bonded weigher or his or her employer. It is unlawful to perform the duties of a 

weighmaster without first obtaining the required license.  The Bonded Weighmaster’s Law provides that a 

business or individual that is not employed by a business may be licensed as a Bonded Weighmaster. A security 

company is not considered the business owner; therefore space is provided at the bottom for the security 

company information; only if they are hired by the business to perform the duties of a weighmaster.  The 

business license will cover all qualified employees of that business.  A business with more than one location will 

need to obtain a license and have a surety bond, as specified in Section 75-27-313, for each physical location. 

The fee for the business license is one hundred dollars ($100.00).  All Weighmaster’s licenses will expire on 

June 30
th
 of each year.  

Please complete the application in its entirety and return it along with the required fee made payable to the 

Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce, P. O. Box 1609, Jackson, MS 39215-1609.  Incomplete 

applications will not be processed until all requirements are met. The completed application must be 

accompanied by:   

 

 Fee of $100.00 (Business License)  

 Weighmaster Application 

 Weighmaster’s Oath 

 Blanket Weighmaster’s Bond with surety in the penal sum of five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) 

 Continuation Certificate duly signed and sealed by surety that the bond continues in force and effect 

 

Upon receipt of your completed application and fee your license will be processed and mailed. If you have any 

questions, please contact our office at 601-359-1149 or email wm@mdac.ms.gov 

 

 

 
P. O. BOX 1609 ∙ JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI 39215-1609 ∙ www.mdac.ms.gov  

 EQUAL OPPORTUNITY IN EMPLOYMENT AND SERVICES 
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE 

ANDY GIPSON, COMMISSIONER 

Weights and Measures Division 

P. O. Box 1609 

Jackson, MS 39215-1609  

Phone: 601-359-1149      Fax: 601-359-1175     Email:  wm@mdac.ms.gov 

 

License No. __________ 
 

APPLICATION FOR BONDED WEIGHMASTER’S BUSINESS LICENSE 
 

The undersigned hereby applies for a license to engage in business as a Bonded Weighmaster, as defined by 

Section 75-27-303(1) Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended, such license being required by Section 75-27-

307(1) for any business or individual who engages in business as a public weighmaster. 

Business Information 
 Full Name of Business (PLEASE PRINT)  

 

Physical Address (No P. O. Box)        

 

City                                      

 

   State 

 

   Zip Code   

 

Telephone Number        

     

  Fax Number       

  

Mailing Address 

 

Email Address 

 

City   

 

 State 

 

Zip Code 

 

Telephone Number    

 

Fax Number  

 

Security Company Information (Only if Security Company performs as a weighmaster at said business) 

Full Name of Security Company (PLEASE PRINT)  

 

Physical Address                                  

City   

 

   State 

 

   Zip Code  

 

Telephone Number        

     

Fax Number  

 

Mailing Address 

 

Email Address 

 

City 

 

State   

 

Zip Code 

 

Telephone Number 

 

Fax Number 

 

Is Applicant a resident of the State of Mississippi? □ Yes   □ No If no, Where? ____________________________ 

 

 

 

mailto:wm@mdac.ms.gov


 

Is Applicant a citizen of the United States? □ Yes   □ No If not, has applicant declared intention to become a 

citizen of the United States? □ Yes   □ No 

 

Does Applicant understand correct weight procedures and how to complete weight certificates?  □ Yes  □ No 

What is the primary property, commodity, produce or article to be weighed or measured by business or individual? 

____________________________________________________________________ 

 

Type of Scale (weighing device): 

a.  Name ______________________________     b.  Serial No. ______________________________________ 

c.  Capacity ___________________________      d.  Date of last official test ____________________________ 

Has Business or individual ever held a license or authorization to perform similar duties to those for which this 

application is made?  □ Yes   □ No    

 

State business or trade names used, if any _____________________________________ where filed ___________ 

 

Principal office if State of Mississippi ______________________________________________ 

Is Business or Individual a subsidiary of or affiliated in any way with any other corporation □ Yes   □ No   If yes, 

state details _______________________________________ 

 

Domestic __________________________________ Foreign __________________________________ 

 
The undersigned applicant hereby certifies and affirms that (1) all statements, oaths, information and schedules 

attached hereto are hereby made a part of this application and that all statements, oaths, information and schedules 

contained herein are true and correct; (2) applicant has executed an official weighmasters oath; (3) all employees 

retained to perform public weighing must be a citizen of the United States or a person who has declared his intention 

of becoming such a citizen, who is a resident of the State of Mississippi, not less than twenty-one (21) years of age, of 

good moral character, who has the ability to weigh accurately and to make correct weight certificates; (4) a bond in the 

penal sum of five thousand dollars ($5,000) payable to the State of Mississippi with sureties to be approved by the 

Secretary of State of the State of Mississippi for the faithful performance of the duties of a public weighmaster is 

supplied with this application; (5) an impression seal or electronic impression of the weighers name and license 

number as required by Section 75-27-311 of the code will be used by each public weigher employed by applicant; and 

(6) compliance with all requirements of the Bonded Weighmasters Law and Regulations adopted thereunder will be 

strictly observed.    

 

State of ________________:    County of __________________________ 

 
 

This the __________________________ day of _________________________________, 20_________________ 

 

______________________________________                           _________________________________________            

          Full name of applicant          Title 

 

This day personally came and appeared before me, the undersigned authority in and for the jurisdiction 

aforesaid, _________________________________ who, being by me first duly sworn, states on oath that 

the matters and things in the foregoing instruments are true and correct as herein stated. 

                                                                                                            ______________________________ 

  Affiant 

Sworn to and subscribed before me on this the ________ day of ___________________, 20_________. 

 

My Commission expires ___________________                             ______________________________ 

                                                                                                                             Notary Public 

 



 
MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE 

ANDY GIPSON, COMMISSIONER 

 Weights and Measures Division 

P. O. Box 1609 

Jackson, MS 39215-1609  

 Phone: 601-359-1149      Fax: 601-359-1175     Email:  wm@mdac.ms.gov 

 

WEIGHMASTER’S OATH 
(Business) 

 
 

      I, the undersigned, being fully vested with authority to act for and in behalf of Bonded Weighmasters License    

applicant: 

 
Full Name of Business (PLEASE PRINT)                                                                                                                                                                  

Physical Address (No P. O. Box)        City   State Zip Code 

Phone Number Fax Number 

   

 

 Do solemnly swear that I have read the Bonded Weighmasters Law of the State of Mississippi and Rules and 

Regulations adopted thereunder and fully understand requirements imposed upon a bonded weighmaster 

licensee, and affirm that said business meets all requirements to be licensed as a Bonded Weighmaster and agree 

that all employees acting in behalf of said business will lawfully and faithfully perform and fulfill the duties and 

responsibilities devolving upon them by reason of their position and fully understand that if said business or any 

person employed by it violates any provisions of said law or rules or regulations adopted thereunder, the business 

will become amenable to the law and subject to the punishment therein, so help me God. It is understood that this 

oath expires on the same date as business’ weighmaster license or upon revocation of such license by the 

Commissioner for cause. 

 

 

 

 

 2 WITNESSES: (PLEASE PRINT) 

 

               

        Name (PLEASE PRINT) 

 

               

        Signature 

 

               

Date        Title  
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE 

ANDY GIPSON, COMMISSIONER 

 Weights and Measures Division 

P. O. Box 1609    Jackson, MS 39215-1609   
  Phone: 601-359-1149        Fax: 601-359-1175     Email:  wm@mdac.ms.gov 

 

   Bond No. ___________________________ 

 

BLANKET WEIGHMASTER’S BOND 
 

 KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, That we                                     
                                                                 (Business) 
of      , as Principal, and _____________________________________  
                              (City) 
as Surety are held and firmly bound unto the State of Mississippi in the full and just sum of five thousand 

($5,000.00) dollars, for payment of which sum well and truly to be made and done, we bind ourselves, our heirs, 

executors, administrators, successors, and assigns, jointly and severally, by these presents. 

WHEREAS, the said Principal, located at         
(Business) 

                
 (Address)                                                                (City)                              (State)                (Zip)                                    (County) 
has applied to the Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce for a license to engage in business as a bonded 

weighmaster and is required to furnish this bond guaranteeing compliance with the laws of the State of Mississippi 

and the existing rules and regulations duly promulgated thereunder by the Commissioner of Agriculture and 

Commerce. 
 

NOW, THEREFORE, THE CONDITION OF THIS OBLIGATION IS SUCH, that if the said 

Principal shall from the      day of   , 20______, to the 30th day of June, 20  , 

faithfully fulfill the requirements and duties prescribed by the laws of the State of Mississippi and the rules and 

regulations duly promulgated thereunder, as now existing or hereafter amended, then this obligation shall be void, 

otherwise to remain in full force and effect. 
 

PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that beginning on the thirtieth day following receipt by the Commissioner of 

Agriculture and Commerce of written Notice of Cancellation from the Surety, no new liability shall accrue to the 

Surety under this bond. 
 

PROVIDED FURTHER, that this obligation may be continued from any subsequent year by continuation 

certificate.  
 

Signatures and Notary.  Complete all information              Mississippi Insurance Department License No. of Surety: ____________________ 
 

By: 

 

_______________________________          ___________     _____________________________       ___________ 
Principal                    Date                          Surety’s Authorized Representative                      Date  

 

___________________________________________     _______________________________________________ 
Print Name of Principal     Print Name/Title of Surety’s Authorized Representative 

 

_____________________________________________________      _________________________________________________________ 

Physical Address of Principal     Physical Address of Surety 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this the __________________ day of ____________________, 20______. 

 
            {Seal of Notary Public} 

     _________________________________________ 

        Notary Public 

If a Power of Attorney used, a copy of the Power of Attorney or the Authorized Agent of the Surety Company must accompany the Bond. 
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