MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE
Connie Braswell, Director of Weights and Measures
Phone: 601-359-1149 Email: wm@mdac.ms.gov Fax: 601-359-1175
CINDY HYDE-SMITH, COMMISSIONER

Application for Bonded Weighmaster’s License for a Business or Individual

The Bonded Weighmaster’s Law provides that a business may be licensed as a Bonded Weighmaster which
is engaged in business of public weighing who shall weigh or measure any property, commodity, produce
or article and issue therefore a weight certificate which shall be accepted as the true and accurate weight or
measure upon which property, commaodity, produce or article is offered for sale or sold and that seals may
be inscribed electronically on weight certificates. It is unlawful to perform the duties of a weighmaster
without first obtaining the required license. The Bonded Weighmaster’s Law provides that a business or
individual that is not employed by a business may be licensed as a Bonded Weighmaster. A security
company is not considered the business owner; therefore space is provided at the bottom for the security
company information; only if they are hired by the business to perform the duties of a weighmaster. The
business license will cover all qualified employees of that business. A business with more than one location
will need to obtain a license and have a surety bond, as specified in Section 75-27-313, for each physical
location. The fee for the business license is one hundred dollars ($100.00) and individual license is
($25.00). All Weighmaster’s licenses will expire on June 30™ of each year.

Please complete the application in its entirety and return it along with the required fee made payable to the
Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce, P. O. Box 1609, Jackson, MS 39215-1609.
Incomplete applications will not be processed until all requirements are met. The completed application
must be accompanied by:

] Fee of $100.00 (Business License) or [ Fee of $25.00 (Individual License)

] Weighmaster Application

[] Weighmaster’s Oath

[] Blanket Weighmaster’s Bond with surety in the penal sum of five thousand dollars ($5,000.00)

('] Continuation Certificate duly signed and sealed by surety that the bond continues in force and effect

Upon receipt of your completed application and fee your license will be processed and mailed. If you have
any questions, please contact our office at 601-359-1149 or email wm@mdac.ms.gov
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE
Connie Braswell, Director of Weights and Measures
Phone: 601-359-1149 Email: wm@mdac.ms.gov Fax: 601-359-1175
CINDY HYDE-SMITH, COMMISSIONER

License No. Issued:

APPLICATION FOR BONDED WEIGHMASTER’S LICENSE
FOR A BUSINESS OR INDIVIDUAL

The undersigned hereby applies for a license to engage in business as a Bonded Weighmaster, as defined by
Section 75-27-303(1) Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended, such license being required by Section 75-27-
307(1) for any business or individual who engages in business as a public weighmaster.

Business/Individual Information

Full Name of Business/Individual (PLEASE PRINT)

Physical Address (No P. O. Box)

City State Zip Code
Telephone Number Fax Number
Mailing Address Email Address
City State Zip Code
Telephone Number Fax Number

Security Company Information (Only if security company performs as a weighmaster at said business)

Full Name of Security Company (PLEASE PRINT)

Physical Address

City State Zip Code Telephone Number Fax Number
Mailing Address Email Address
City State Zip Code Telephone Number Fax Number

Is Applicant a resident of the State of Mississippi? O Yes O No If no, Where?
Is Applicant a citizen of the United States? O Yes O No If not, has applicant declared intention to become a
citizen of the United States? O Yes O No




Does Applicant understand correct weight procedures and how to complete weight certificates? O Yes O No
What is the primary property, commodity, produce or article to be weighed or measured by business or individual?

Type of Scale (weighing device):
a. Name b. Serial No.

c. Capacity d. Date of last official test

Has Business or individual ever held a license or authorization to perform similar duties to those for which this
application is made? O Yes O No

State business or trade names used, if any where filed

Principal office if State of Mississippi

Is Business or Individual a subsidiary of or affiliated in any way with any other corporation O Yes 0O No If yes,
state details

Domestic Foreign

The undersigned applicant hereby certifies and affirms that (1) all statements, oaths, information and schedules
attached hereto are hereby made a part of this application and that all statements, oaths, information and schedules
contained herein are true and correct; (2) applicant has executed an official weighmasters oath; (3) all employees
retained to perform public weighing must be a citizen of the United States or a person who has declared his intention
of becoming such a citizen, who is a resident of the State of Mississippi, not less than twenty-one (21) years of age, of
good moral character, who has the ability to weigh accurately and to make correct weight certificates; (4) a bond in the
penal sum of five thousand dollars ($5,000) payable to the State of Mississippi with sureties to be approved by the
Secretary of State of the State of Mississippi for the faithful performance of the duties of a public weighmaster is
supplied with this application; (5) an impression seal or electronic impression of the weighers name and license
number as required by Section 75-27-311 of the code will be used by each public weigher employed by applicant; and
(6) compliance with all requirements of the Bonded Weighmasters Law and Regulations adopted thereunder will be
strictly observed.

State of ; County of
This the day of , 20
Full name of applicant Title

This day personally came and appeared before me, the undersigned authority in and for the jurisdiction

aforesaid, who, being by me first duly sworn, states on oath that

the matters and things in the foregoing instruments are true and correct as herein stated.

Affiant
Sworn to and subscribed before me on this the day of , 20

My Commission expires

Notary Public
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE
Connie Braswell, Director of Weights and Measures

Phone: 601-359-1149 Email: wm@mdac.ms.gov
CINDY HYDE-SMITH, COMMISSIONER

WEIGHMASTER’S OATH
(Business or Individual)

Fax: 601-359-1175

I, the undersigned, being fully vested with authority to act for and in behalf of Bonded Weighmasters License

applicant

Business Section (PLEASE PRINT)

Physical Address

City

State

Zip Code

Mailing Address

State

Zip Code

Individual Section (PLEASE PRINT)

being employed as bonded Weighmaster at

Company(PLEASE PRINT)

Company Physical Address

Company City

Company State

Company Zip Code

Contact Phone Number

Do solemnly swear that | have read the Bonded Weighmasters Law of the State of Mississippi and Rules and Regulations
adopted thereunder and fully understand requirements imposed upon a bonded weighmaster licensee, and affirm that said
business meets all requirements to be licensed as a Bonded Weighmaster and agree that all employees acting in behalf of
said business will lawfully and faithfully perform and fulfill the duties and responsibilities devolving upon them by reason
of their position and fully understand that if said business or any person employed by it violates any provisions of said law
or rules or regulations adopted thereunder, the business will become amenable to the law and subject to the punishment
therein, so help me God. It is understood that this oath expires on the same date as business’ weighmaster license or upon
revocation of such license by the Commissioner for cause.

2 WITNESSES: (PLEASE PRINT)

Date

Name (PRINT OR TYPE)

Signature

Title
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE
Connie Braswell, Director of Weights and Measures
Phone: 601-359-1149 Email: wm@mdac.ms.gov Fax: 601-359-1175
CINDY HYDE-SMITH, COMMISSIONER

Bond No.

BLANKET WEIGHMASTER’S BOND

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS, That we

(Business)

of , as Principal, and
(City)

as Surety are held and firmly bound unto the State of Mississippi in the full and just sum of five thousand

($5,000.00) dollars, for payment of which sum well and truly to be made and done, we bind ourselves, our heirs,

executors, administrators, successors, and assigns, jointly and severally, by these presents.

WHEREAS, the said Principal, located at

(Business)

(Address) (City) (State) (Zip) (County)

has applied to the Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce for a license to engage in business as a bonded
weighmaster and is required to furnish this bond guaranteeing compliance with the laws of the State of Mississippi
and the existing rules and regulations duly promulgated thereunder by the Commissioner of Agriculture and
Commerce.

NOW, THEREFORE, THE CONDITION OF THIS OBLIGATION IS SUCH, that if the said
Principal shall from the day of , 20 , to the 30th day of June, 20 ,
faithfully fulfill the requirements and duties prescribed by the laws of the State of Mississippi and the rules and
regulations duly promulgated thereunder, as now existing or hereafter amended, then this obligation shall be void,
otherwise to remain in full force and effect.

PROVIDED, HOWEVER, that beginning on the thirtieth day following receipt by the Commissioner of
Agriculture and Commerce of written Notice of Cancellation from the Surety, no new liability shall accrue to the
Surety under this bond.

PROVIDED FURTHER, that this obligation may be continued from any subsequent year by continuation
certificate duly signed and sealed by the surety.

SIGNED, SEALED and DELIVERED this the day of , 20

Countersigned by: Principal
(MS Residence Agent must be licensed with State of MS Insurance Department)

By

Mississippi Residence Agent

Print Name Surety

By
Address Attorney-In-Fact




