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STATE OF MISSISSIPPI
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE
CINDY HYDE-SMITH
COMMISSIONER

Application for a Scale Service Repair Company and Scale Service Repairman

Any person engaging in the business of scale repairing, calibrating, installing or testing shall obtain a license
annually which expires June 30" of each year. The annual fee for the Scale Service Repair Company license
is $100.00 and the annual fee for the Scale Service Repairman license is $50.00. If you are the owner of a
scale service repair company and will work as a repairman, it will be necessary for you to make an application
for both licenses. A business with multiple locations will need to obtain separate license for each location that
services scales within the State of Mississippi. Please include a current calibration certificate for your weights
along with your application. A current calibration certificate is required each year before a license will be
issued. If fees have been received without the certificate, license are held pending receipt of certificate. A

check or money order should be made payable to the MDAC/Weights and Measures Division, P. O. Box
1609, Jackson, MS 39215-16009.

Mississippi Weights and Measures Law, Section 75-27-67, states that any person so licensed shall, within
three (3) days after he adjusts, repairs, services, restores to service or places in service any scale, make a
report thereof to the Director or Weights and Measures on a form provided by MDAC. You may find this
service report form on our website at www.mdac.ms.gov and return it by mail, fax (601) 359-1175 or email
wm@mdac.ms.gov when service has been completed to the Jackson office within 3 days of repair.

As a reminder, the law was amended to require an installation permit for all scales with a capacity of 10,000
pounds or more. An application for the permit shall be submitted along with a blue print of the scale and

scale foundation to the director for issuance of the permit prior to scale installation in order to schedule a
preliminary inspection.

If you should have any questions, please contact our office at 601-359-1149 or email wm@mdac.ms.gov

P. 0. BOX 1609 - JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI 39215-1609 - www.mdac.ms.gov
EQUAL OPPORTUNITY IN EMPLOYMENT AND SERVICES


http://www.mdac.ms.gov/
mailto:wm@mdac.ms.gov
mailto:wm@mdac.ms.gov
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE
CINDY HYDE-SMITH, COMMISSIONER
Weights and Measures Division
P. O. Box 1609
Jackson, MS 39215-1609
Phone: 601-359-1149 Fax: 601-359-1175 Email: wm@mdac.ms.gov

License No.

APPLICATION FOR
SCALE SERVICE REPAIR COMPANY LICENSE

I hereby, make application for a license to install, repair and/or test scales in the State of Mississippi as provided by
Section 75-27-67 Mississippi Code of 1972, as amended,

Company Name (PLEASE PRINT)

Company Physical Address (No P. O. Box) Email Address

City State Zip Code Telephone Number Fax Number
Company Mailing Address (License will be mailed to this address)
City State Zip Code Telephone Number Fax Number
Device Tested: (Check boxes below)

Gram Scales Small Scales 0-30 Ibs. Intermediate Scales 31-5,000 Ibs. Heavy Scales 5,000+ Rail Scale

Applicant understands and affirms that (1) all scale company and service repairmen representing applicant shall hold the required
Mississippi license(s). (2) All scale service repairmen employed by company to perform scale service-repair work in the State of
Mississippi shall be of good moral character, possess the necessary equipment and be sufficiently trained and competent to perform
each and every installation and service-repair task to which such repairman is assigned. (3) All scale company and service repairmen
shall have access at all times to a current edition of NIST Handbook 44, the Mississippi Weights and Measures Law and applicable
regulations. (4) Applicant is responsible for all work performed by, actions and conduct of its employees. (5) Applicant shall supply
for use or permit to be used by any scale service repairman employee for scale service repair work in the State of Mississippi; only
weights acceptable should be calibrated yearly by an official laboratory with standards traceable to NIST and for which a current
certificate of calibration has been issued by such laboratory. (6) No brass or fabricated (such as a laminated weight or a weight of
non-uniform density) weight(s) may be used by scale service repair companies or scale service repairmen in the State of Mississippi.

Signature

Date
Enclosed with this application:

L] A current copy of certificate(s) of calibration on all weights used by applicant or persons employed by company for scale service

repair work in the State of Mississippi. Note: A calibration certificate is required each year before a license will be issued. If fees
have been received without the certificate, license are held pending receipt of certificate.

[ 1 A check or money order for $100.00 made payable to the MDAC/Weights and Measures Division.
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MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE
CINDY HYDE-SMITH, COMMISSIONER
Weights and Measures Division
P. O. Box 1609
Jackson, MS 39215-1609
Phone: 601-359-1149  Fax: 601-359-1175 Email: wm@mdac.ms.gov

License No.

APPLICATION FOR SCALE SERVICE REPAIRMEN LICENSE

I hereby make application for a license to install, repair and/or test scales in the State of Mississippi as provided by Section
75-27-67, Mississippi Code of 1972 as amended.

Name of Repairman (PLEASE PRINT)

Company Represented Manager/ Supervisor Name (PLEASE PRINT)

Company Mailing Address

Email Address

City State Zip Code
Telephone Number Fax Number Certificate Calibration Date:
Device Tested: (Check boxes below)
Gram Scales Small Scales 0-30 Ibs. Intermediate Scales 31-5,000 Ibs. Heavy Scales 5,000+ Test All Devices

I understand and affirm that: (1) License issued hereunder will allow me to install, test, adjust, repair and remove “Condemned for
Repairs” tags placed on weighing and measuring devices by Mississippi Weights and Measures Officials, and to place in service, on a
temporary basis, newly installed devices and repaired devices which have been previously condemned until such time as an official
inspection can be made by Mississippi Weights and Measures Officials. (2) Any weighing or measuring device(s) sold or installed by
me for use in commerce in Mississippi shall have been tested and issued a certificate of conformance by the National Type Evaluation
Program (NTEP) of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). (3) I shall not retain any remuneration for repairing
any weighing or measuring device unless the repairing involved causes such device to comply with the requirements of the
Mississippi Weights and Measures Law and Rules and Regulations for at least (90) days after such repair. (4) That | will, at all times
while testing, adjusting, repairing or placing in service scales, have access to a current edition of NIST Handbook 44. (5) Violations
of the provisions of the Mississippi Weights and Measures Law and Rules and Regulations may result in the suspension or revocation
of my license or other legal remedies at law. (6) Should my license be suspended, revoked or otherwise canceled, | will surrender
same to the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce immediately. (7) A copy of the certification issued by a certified
metrology laboratory on all weights used by me yearly is attached and made a part of this application; and (8) If license is granted, |
shall employ the highest ethical standards in all information supplied and work performed by me under the authority of such license.

Signature Date

Enclose with this application:

O License Fee of $50.00 A check or money order made payable to the MDAC/Weights and Measures Division.

O A copy of the certification of calibration on all test weights used by me yearly. Note: A calibration certificate is required each

year before a license will be issued. If fees have been received without the certificate, license are held pending receipt of
certificate.


mailto:wm@mdac.ms.gov

Adoption of NIST Handbook 44

116.01 The Department adopts current Handbook 44 as published by the National Institute of Standards and Technology as the
specifications, tolerances and other technical requirements for weighing and measuring devices in Mississippi, except where
modified, amended, or rejected herein. A copy of Handbook 44 may be obtained from the website of the National Institute
of Standards and Technology, http://www.nist.gov/pml/wmd/pubs/h44-11.cfm.

(Adopted May 2011) Source: Miss. Code Ann. 875-27-19 (Rev. 2005).

116.02 The Department modifies HB 44, Section 2.20. “Scales, UR.2.6. Approaches” by making the following exclusion as
indicated by strike through and additions, as indicated by the underlined language:

UR.2.6.1. Vehicle Scales. — On the entrance and exit end(s) of a vehicle scale, there shall be a straight approach as follows:
(a) the width at least the width of the platform,
(b) the length at least one-half the length of the platform but not required to be more than 12 m (40 ft), and
(c) not less than 3 m (10 ft) of any approach adjacent to the platform shall be in the same plane as the platform. Any
slope in the remaining portion of the approach shall ensure (1) ease of vehicle access, (2) ease for testing purposes,
and (3) drainage away from the scale.

In addition to (a), (b), and (c), scales installed in any one location for a period of 6 months or more shall have not less than 3
m (10 feet) of any approach adjacent to the platform constructed of concrete to ensure that this portion remains smooth and
level and in the same plane as the platform; however, steel grating of sufficient strength to withstand all loads equal to the
concentrated load capacity of the scale may be installed in this portion. Any slope in the remaining portion of the approach
referred to in (c) above shall be no more than % inch per foot and be constructed of concrete.

[Nonretroactive as of January 1, 1976] (Amended 1977, 1983, 1993, 2006, and 2010)
(Adopted May 2011)  Source: Miss. Code Ann. §75-27-19 (Rev. 2005).

116.03 The Department modifies pertinent sections of HB 44, Section 1.10. “General Code” by making the following additions, as
indicated by the underlined language:
1. G-S.5. Indicating and Recording Elements.
A. G-S.5.1. General.—All weighing and measuring devices shall be provided with indicating and/or recording
elements appropriate in design and adequate in amount. Primary indications and recorded representations shall be clear,
definitive, accurate, and easily read under any conditions of normal operation of the device.

B. G-S.5.6. Recorded Representations. Insofar as they are appropriate and as determined by the Department, the
requirements for indicating and recording elements shall also apply to recorded representations. All recorded values shall be printed
digitally.

2. G-UR.2. Installation Requirements.

G-UR.2.2. Installation of Indicating and/or Recording Element. - A device shall be so installed that there is no
obstruction between a primary indicating and/or recording element and the weighing or measuring element; otherwise there
shall be convenient and permanently installed means for direct communication, oral or visual, between an individual located
at a primary indicating and/or recording element and an individual located at the weighing or measuring element.

3. G-UR.3. Use Requirements.

G-UR.3.3. Position of Equipment. — A device or system equipped with a primary indicating element and used in
direct sales, except for prescription scales, shall be positioned so that its indications may be accurately read and the weighing or
measuring operation may be observed from some reasonable “customer” and “operator” position, as determined by the Department.
The permissible distance between the equipment and a reasonable customer and operator position shall be determined in each case
upon the basis of the individuals circumstances, particularly the size and character of the indicating element. (Adopted May 2011)
Source: Miss. Code Ann. §75-27-19 (Rev. 2005).

116.04 The Department modifies HB 44, Section 1.10. “General Code” by making the following additions, as indicated by the
underlined language:

G-S.5. Indicating and Recording Elements.

A. G-S.5.1. General.—All weighing and measuring devices shall be provided with indicating and/or recording
elements appropriate in design and adequate in amount. Primary indications and recorded representations shall be clear, definitive,
accurate; and easily read under any conditions of normal operation of the device. Scales must be connected to or equipped with an
indicating element and/or recording element that is capable of making a permanent record of the weight for the customer. However, if
the weight on the scale indicator or remote display is plainly visible to the customer, the operator is not required to have an indicating
element and/or recording element. Any issues that may arise regarding customer readability of the scale indicator or remote display
will be resolved by the Department. (Adopted May 2011)

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §75-27-19 (Rev. 2005).


http://www.nist.gov/pml/wmd/pubs/h44-11.cfm

SUBPART 4-BUREAU OF REGULATORY SERVICES
CHAPTER 09-Weights and Measures Regulations

Schedule of Fees for Laboratory Testing and Adjustment

110 Mass standards are charged for testing and then an adjustment charge if needed.
In the tables below the “Test Fee” is followed by the “Test w/Adjustment Fee”.

Mass Calibration

Echelon Il Weights (NIST Class F; ASTM Classes 5,6,7; OIML Classes M1, M2, M3

Nominal Value Tolerance Test Fee With Adjustment
0-101bs/0-5kg $5 $10
>10-1001Ibs />5- 50 kg 310 $20
>100 - 1000 Ibs / >50 kg - 500 kg 520 540
>1000 Ibs / >500 kg $50 $100
Weight Carts $100 $150

Echelon Il Weights (ASTM Classes 2 and 3; OIML Classes F1, F2, E2)

Nominal Value

Fee for testing only, no adjustment charges.
Fee is PER weight

0-101bs/0-5kg $30
>10-20Ibs/>5- 10 kg $40
>20 Ibs / >10 kg $50
Volume Transfer
Nominal Value Fee
0 - 5 Gallons $40
>5 Gallons $40 plus $0.75/gallon for each additional gallon
over five

(Amended April 6, 2010.)

(Effective May 6, 2010)
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