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Subpart 4-Bureau of Regulatory Services 
Chapter 10-Organic Farming Regulations 

 
100 The authority for these rules and regulations is the “Organic Farming Law” Miss. 

Code Ann. §§69-47-1 et seq., any and all subsequent amendments made 
thereafter, and all such other points of law that may be applicable.  The 
Mississippi Organic Certification Program and its rules and regulations do not 
apply to livestock and poultry. 

(Adopted October 28, 2002.) 
 
Source:  Miss. Code Ann. §69-47-3. 
 
101 Definitions and terms: 

 1.  “Act” means the Organic Farming Act. 
2.  “Product” means any agricultural commodity or product, whether raw or 

processed, that is marketed for human consumption. 
3.  “Commissioner” means the Commissioner of the Mississippi Department of 

Agriculture and Commerce. 
4.  “Department” means the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and 

Commerce. 
5.  “EPA” means the United States Environmental Protection Agency. 
6.  “FDA” means the United States Food and Drug Administration. 
7.  “Person” means an individual, group of individuals, corporation, association, 

organization, cooperative, or other entity. 
8.  Processing” means cooking, baking, heating, drying, mixing, grinding, 

churning, separating, extracting, cutting, fermenting, eviscerating, preserving, 
dehydrating, freezing, or otherwise manufacturing and includes the packaging, 
canning, jarring, or otherwise enclosing food in a container. 

9.  “Producer” means a person who engages in the business of growing or 
producing food, feed, or other commodities for human consumption. 

10.  “Retailer” means a person who engages in the business of selling food, feed, 
or other commodities for human consumption including grocery stores, 
markets, stands, mail-order businesses or other similar operations. 

11.  “State” means the State of Mississippi. 
12.  “USDA” means the United States Department of Agriculture. 

(Adopted October 28, 2002.) 
 
Source:  Miss. Code Ann. §69-47-3. 
 
Adoption of USDA Regulations 
 
102 The Department hereby adopts the USDA regulations, more specifically Part 205-

National Organic Program (7 C.F.R. §§205 et seq.).   
(Adopted October 28, 2002.) 
 
Source:  Miss. Code Ann. §69-47-3. 
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Organic Certification Inspection Fees 
 
103.01 Producers and processors participating in the organic certification program will be 

charged an inspection fee and an annual renewal fee.  Retailers and distributors 
will be charged an application fee for the initial inspection conducting by the 
Department in accordance with these regulations and an annual renewal fee. 

(Adopted October 28, 2002.) 
 
103.02 Payment of fees is due upon application for certification.  Certification will not be 

granted without payment.  Renewal fees are due on January 1 of each year. 
(Adopted October 28, 2002.) 
 
103.03 The inspection fee shall be paid by the new applicant and those applicants 

renewing certification, and shall be paid in accordance with the following 
schedule: 
  

       Applicant/Entity                                                         Initial Application      Renewal  
Producer—Less than 5 Acres $25 $25 
Producer—5 to 25 Acres $50 $25 
Producer—Over 25 Acres $75 $25 
Greenhouse Producer—Less than 2500 Square Feet $25 $25 
Greenhouse Producer—2500 to 10000 Square Feet $50 $25 
Greenhouse Producer—Over 10000 Square Feet $75 $25 
Distributor $50 $50/year 
Processor (other than producer/processor) $50 $50/year 
Retailer $25 $25/year 

 
(Adopted October 28, 2002.) 
 
Source:  Miss. Code Ann. §69-47-3. 
 
Registration 
 
104.01 All producers, retailers and processors, regardless of any exclusions or exceptions 

granted in 7 C.F.R. §205.101, must be registered with the Department prior to 
conducting business within the state. 

(Adopted October 28, 2002.) 
 
104.02 A certifying agent must register with the Department prior to conducting activity 

within the State. 
(Adopted October 28, 2002.) 
 
Source:  Miss. Code Ann. §69-47-3. 
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Labels 
 
105 All products must have the Mississippi Certified Organic Label, the USDA 

Certified Organic Label or a label approved by the Mississippi Department of 
Agriculture and Commerce.  Anyone seeking to use a label other than the 
Mississippi Certified Organic Label or the USDA Certified Organic Label must 
submit a written request to the Department. 

(Adopted October 28, 2002.) 
 
Source:  Miss. Code Ann. §69-47-3. 
 


