

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND COMMERCE

ANDY GIPSON COMMISSIONER

PRESS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 13, 2018

Contact: Paige Manning, Director of Marketing and Public Relations (601) 359-1163 E-mail: paige@mdac.ms.gov

Mississippi Counties Designated Disaster Areas by USDA

Twenty Mississippi counties have been designated as primary disaster areas by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue due to crop losses caused by excessive rainfall and prolonged flooding that occurred from April 1 to June 30, 2018.

Farm operators in the designated primary counties and the counties contiguous to the primary counties are eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided that eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible areas have eight months from the date of the Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans.

"I appreciate Governor Phil Bryant's assistance in requesting a disaster designation, and I appreciate Secretary Perdue and USDA for their prompt review and approval of our request. This designation will provide our farmers with needed assistance. I encourage our farmers in designated counties to reach out to their local FSA offices," said Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce Andy Gipson.

The primary counties named in the Secretarial disaster designation include: Adams, Alcorn, Clay, DeSoto, George, Greene, Issaquena, Itawamba, Jackson, Lee, Leflore, Lowndes, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Stone, Tishomingo, Tunica, and Union.

Contiguous counties in Mississippi include: Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Coahoma, Forrest, Franklin, Grenada, Hancock, Harrison, Holmes, Humphreys, Jefferson, Lafayette, Marshall, Monroe, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Pearl River, Perry, Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wilkinson, Yalobusha, and Yazoo. Contiguous counties and parishes in the adjacent states of Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Tennessee are also included.

Farmers impacted in these areas can obtain further information from their local FSA offices.

2018 Secretarial Declaration: MS 8487129

